Flavours of India

We associate food with its particular fragrance and there is a special aroma in a mix of finely chopped fresh mint, coriander, crunchy green chillies, onions & tomatoes, sprinkled with fresh lime juice and black salt, which reminds me of the sweet, tangy, spicy & flavorful Chaats (savoury snack) we devoured on the streets, in India as kids. My trip to India recently re-awakened my love for Indian food all thanks to L who took me on a journey full of mouth-watering Indian street food, meals & drinks! The very mention of Chaat brings a twinkle in her eyes, L was a constant companion through all my travels in India and is a great cook! I’ve had some of the most delicious chaats, snacks, chutneys, achaars (pickles), papads, sweets and meals in India thanks to her. Thanks L, for showing me the taste of real India! 🙂

Some of my favourite Indian street food from my travels…

Chaat
Indian street food : Chaat
Alu Papdi Chaat
Alu Tikki and Papdi Chaat, Chandini Chowk, Delhi
Sweet potato Chaat
Sweet potato Chaat on the roadside, Delhi
Sprouted dal Chaat
Sprouted dal Chaat
Snacks and savouries
Snacks and savouries at a Chaat shop in Delhi
Pakoras
Vegetable, onion & stuffed chilli Pakoras in Pushkar, Rajasthan
Samosas
Fresh Samosas early morning with tea at Pushkar
Chole Bhature
Chole Bhature from Chache di Hatti at North Campus, Delhi University (one of the best in Delhi)
Fried Chicken
Fried Chicken and kebabs at Chandini Chowk, Old Delhi
Seekh Kebabs
Seekh Kebabs at Chittaranjan Park Market, Delhi
Dal Baati ( a Rajasthani Meal) & Thali (Meals)
Dal Baati ( a Rajasthani Meal) & Vegetarian Thali (Meals)
Making Chappati (Flat Indian Bread )
Making Chappati/ Roti (Flat Indian Bread )
Fresh Seafood
Fresh Seafood (Garlic Calamari, Crumb fried Mussels and Fried fish) in Goa
Nan Khatai ( Indian short bread cookies)
Nan Khatai ( Indian short bread cookies) on the road at Chandini Chowk
Aam papad
Aam papad (dried Mango pulp cakes) on the street
Indian sweets
Indian sweets : (from left) Milk Peda, Motichoor Laddu, Jalebi in sugar syrup and Gud Jalebi ( in Jaggery) in Varanasi
Frying Mal Pua and Shakkar Para
Frying Mal Pua and Shakkar Para at Varanasi
Kulfi Falooda
Indian dessert: Kulfi Falooda Rabri in Chandini Chowk, Delhi
Sugar cane juice and Kala khatta
Sugar cane juice and Kala khatta
Chai in a Kullad ( a earthen cup)
And finally my elixir : Chai in a Kullad ( Tea in an earthen cup)

To enjoy this food even more watch this amazing video on Indian food – ‘A day in India‘ by The Perennial Plate. I am a foodie but more than cooking I like eating and taking pictures of food. One of my favorites in Food photography is Laxmi’s blog – Pure Vege, which has some simple yet stunning pictures and recipes. Her photography is timeless and ethereal almost heavenly!

Cheers!

27 Comments Add yours

  1. I miss home now!:( I should defn call L for a foodie tour the next time I am in Delhi !! 😉

  2. India has such vibrant colours and flavours of food to offer! Beautiful photos, they make me want to visit India just for the food!!

    1. 🙂 Thanks! You must…it’s quite awesome!

  3. janina says:

    Aahh, those images make my mouth water, not just for the beautiful food but the colours of India too, a place that has always been on my bucket list (‘tho I won’t be able to visit, unfortunately, unless I win Tattslotto!, so I enjoy the place vicariously). Welcome back, Ritu! Shared on Google+.

    1. Thanks Janina 🙂 I was in India for a few months and it was awesome to live there after so many years! I tried to make the most of it and traveled a lot. Will share my experiences in the future posts and hope to take you on a journey to India 🙂
      Cheers!

  4. getsetandgo says:

    Hi Ritu, an awesome post and pics… my mouth is seriously watering at the sight of all this amazing food. A trip to Delhi and around needs to be planned soon 🙂

    1. Thanks Snigdha 🙂 I was introduced so many new things this time in India that I have a new found respect for Indian food! Mutton ghugni in Chittaranjan Park was the best! I’m going to try and make rajma with minced beef now! 😉

  5. What a fantastic range of food. You have it so well covered in this interesting collection of images!

  6. Wow, all this Indian street food looks delicious!! My mouth is watering. 🙂

  7. What a yummy post 😀 Outstanding images!

  8. Very nice, Ritu! I’d definitely feel khuush after eating most of these things!
    I’m a bit curious about the calamar’ from Goa- how would you describe the food scene? Besides Portuguese influences and vindaloo, that is…
    Also, I recall a chai stall in Jaipur that encouraged patrons to throw their chai jars on the ground after each use…could you think of a reason why?

  9. loca4motion says:

    I love this post! What a stunning set of images! I really want to get better at food photography but my camera struggles in low light situations. Time for an upgrade! What camera do you use?

    1. Thanks Lucy 🙂 I have a Nikon D80 and use a 35mm F2 lens with it mostly. It’s lighter and perfect for travelling, shooting food and almost anything. The lens is really good in low light conditions too. You could get a 50mm depending on your camera.

      1. loca4motion says:

        Thanks Ritu! I have a Nikon D50 which I love for its size and weight but I need a faster lens. I’ve had it since 2006 so am thinking of upgrading soon anyway. I’ll stick with Nikon though, just not decided which model yet.

        1. Yeah I like Nikon too. Maybe you can try the low F stop DX lenses. I refer to this website for any queries on my Nikon – http://www.kenrockwell.com/
          Cheers! 🙂

        2. loca4motion says:

          Thanks for that! I’ll take a look. 🙂

Leave a Comment

